About

History of Innovation

The Jorgensen operation began in 1909 when Martin Jorgensen, Sr. and his wife Gertrude homesteaded land near Ideal, South Dakota. Nearly 50 years later, his son Martin Jorgensen Jr. adopted the pioneering beef cattle performance breeding concepts of the late Dr. Jay Lush (Iowa State University). By the 1960s, the Jorgensen’s performance-based, line-breeding program had established their herd as “the source” for performance beef cattle genetics in the U.S. Today, the 3rd- and 4th-generations of the Jorgensen family continue the legacy of innovation through farming and cattle operations. We remain at the forefront of performance measurement, genetic analysis, and conservation. As a result, cattlemen, farmers, and hunters continue to look to “the source.”

Meet the Team

For over 100 years, four-generations of the Jorgensen family have sought to improve their land, their cattle, their crop genetics, and the lives of their family, as well as the families near them. Meet the team that is carrying on the Jorgensen legacy of innovation, excellence, and family. 

Greg Jorgensen

Partner Sales Representative
(605) 840-2855
greg@jorgensenfarms.com

Nick Jorgensen

Partner CEO / CFO
605-840-0316
nick@jorgensenfarms.com

Cody Jorgensen

Partner Chief Livestock Operations Officer
(605) 840-1780
cody@jorgensenfarms.com

Bryan Jorgensen

Partner Chief Agronomy Operations Officer
605-840-9005
bryan@jorgensenfarms.com

Brenda Jorgensen

Controller
605-840-1254
brenda@jorgensenfarms.com

Andy Tegethoff

Sales Representative/Inventory Manager
andy@jorgensenfarms.com

Jon Barfuss

Director of Agronomy Operations
605-840-0884
jon@jorgensenfarms.com

David Thomas

Director, Marketing & Development
david@jorgensenfarms.com

Pat Donahue

Director of Livestock Operations
605-840-4420
pat@jorgensenfarms.com

Operations

Over the past 100 years, we’ve grown from a family homestead to an operation known nationwide for its superior Angus herd, excellent certified seed, being a leader in soil health, and prime pheasant hunting. But don’t let our 12,000 acres fool you. We’re proud to remain a family operation rooted in a tradition of excellence and innovation.

Testimonials